In Reception we try to use the children’s interests to plan activities and experiences which will help to achieve the objectives stated in the EYFS Statutory Framework. Planning is based loosely around a theme and objectives are covered throughout the three terms.

There are seven areas of learning and these are split into Prime Areas and Specific Areas.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The children will receive a rich range of experiences, across all areas of learning throughout their Reception Year in order to meet The Early Learning Goals which they are assessed against at the end of Reception.

Parents will be informed Termly of the broad topics that are being covered and will be given the objectives that the children are working towards. For more information please view our curriulum plans:-

The phonics / reading scheme used in Reception is Read Write Inc.

Parents of Reception aged children may find the following documents useful.  These are the documents we use to plan from and assess against:-

Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Early Years Outcomes (Department for Education)